Sesnon Gallery at UCSC – IRWIN 2017

5:30 pm – 7:30 pm

1156 High Street at Porter College, 2nd Floor

Santa Cruz

Visit us on First Friday! The Mary Porter Sesnon Art Gallery is delighted to present IRWIN 2017, the 31st annual Irwin Scholarship Award exhibition, showcasing the work of a select group of UC Santa Cruz’s most promising emerging artists from the Art Department: Nima Shariat, Alex Escobedo, Jiyeon Choi, Sarah Do, Webster Nguyen, Kevin Patanawong, Julia Aviles, Amber-Rose Kelly, Camille Mariet, Jennifer Hamilton, Bailey Clark, and Luis Contreras.

From love and sex to memory and trauma, IRWIN 2017 will highlight the contemporary conscious through an unconventional lens. Paintings and photos will transcend the boundaries of 2D representation while video and audio works demand a more intimate engagement between spectator and artist. The exhibition presents a rich collection of innovative works which examine the personal as political, expanding individualized themes into a larger social, political, and environmental framework.  

IRWIN 2017 is made possible by the William Hyde and Susan Benteen Irwin Scholarship Fund, which generates annual merit scholarships to further the education of selected UC Santa Cruz artists.

*Works in slide show are previous works by the participating artists and may not necessarily be exhibited at the show.

June, June Westside
Comments are closed.